Lithuania to enter in the Eurozone

30.12.2014 20:39

The beginning of 2015 will mean for Lithuania a very important step. As of January 1st, 2015 the country enters in the Eurozone, which means that the country leaves its current currency - Litas and officially begins to use the Euro in their economic transactions. This way the eurozone will be expanded to 19 member states. The conversion is determined at 3.45 litas/1 Euro.
The first two weeks of the new year the two currencies will be simultaneously used although change will be returned only in Euros. Definitely the Litas currency will cease to be employed on January 16, 2015.
All central banks of the Eurozone will change the currency for free from January 1st to February 28th.